Four Keys to a Successful Workout

FOUR KEYS TO A SUCCESSFUL WORKOUT

Is it just me, or are there certain times of the year when it’s harder to work out than others? I find it easy to get in a routine during the spring or fall, when the weather’s nice and life is fairly predictable. But when the winter holidays come, I fall apart. I’m so busy traveling or shopping or catching up with family and stuffing myself with delicious delicacies, like my mom’s famous pecan pie, that working out becomes pretty much non-existent. That’s why I give thanks for oversized sweaters on Thanksgiving!

Summer can be the same way though! With parties and cookouts and vacations to look forward to, who has time to work out?! (My family celebrates five birthdays in June alone, including mine!) If you’re like me and struggling to stick to a workout routine this summer, check out some simple things I’ve come up with to help stay motivated.

Here are my four keys to a successful workout!

 photo 61ZWYZBMGDL._UY445__zpsrquf9upe.jpg
image credit: amazon.com
  • Dress for success. Getting dressed for a workout is half the battle. Try wearing comfortable athletic wear in bright colors and bold patterns that you’re excited about. Personally, I love tank tops with fun sayings on them! You’re more likely to work out when you look and feel good.
  • Find your jam. A good playlist is essential to a good workout. No matter what type of music you like, workout music should be fast-paced and fun. Find something you can lose yourself in so you’re not focusing on how hard it is to breathe or how fast your heart is beating. 🙂 I like to listen to Pandora’s Cycling Station and Spotify’s Dance Workout Playlist.
  • Switch it up. Routines are good for forming habits but I get bored if I do the same workout every day. I recommend alternating between cardio and strength-building exercises, always incorporating something new or different. For example, try increasing the number of reps of an activity or adding in something new, like jumping jacks, to keep things interesting. Or, move the setting of your workout from inside your home or gym to somewhere outdoors with a great view. Fresh air and a change of scenery can be invigorating! My husband and I like to do this on weekends and it ends up being the best workout we get all week.

 photo pexels-photo-58091-large_zpsoc2movhh.jpeg

  • Have fun. After all, it is summer! There are so many cool things you can do to stay fit all year-round that don’t involve a pair of running shoes. Swimming, surfing, biking, hiking, yoga, karate, dancing—you name it! Any of these activities are easy, fun ways to stay active and in shape. Best of all, they can be done with other people who will likely hold you accountable and keep you motivated to work out!

Face it. We all want to be healthy, whether it’s to look better, live longer, or both. But, sometimes it’s easy for us to let our health and fitness fall by the wayside. These things have helped me stay focused on working out and even made me look forward to it. I hope they do the same for you!

blogsignature

Leave a Reply

