New Beginnings

newbeginnings

It’s spring. It has been for a few weeks, and it really feels like it now. Yesterday, the sun was out all day, except for a few of those spring showers in the morning. Everything is green, flowers are blooming, and the world is coming alive.

I’ve witnessed some new beginnings in my life very recently, and they’ve got me thinking…

One of my best friends just had her fourth child. She is an amazing mama. I joke with her that I want to be like her when I grow up. She’s the crafty, DIY type. She homeschools her kids. She cooks, she cleans, and she’s always smiling. She’s the type of woman that every woman should aspire to be, but she’s so humble.

I’ve grown even closer to her through this pregnancy. She’s been so open about everything, and she’s answered any questions I’ve come up with, no matter how crazy or obvious they seemed. I’m the type of person that wants to know as much as I can before going into something, and pregnancy will be no exception. It’s still a little ways off, but I figure it’s not too early to prepare. You can read tons of books, but there’s nothing quite like talking to someone who’s going through it right then and there. I’m excited for my time to come somewhere down the road. Becoming a mother will be an entirely new adventure, but I’m excited about the aspect.

In my household, Andrew and I are both transitioning in the professional world. He’s starting somewhere new, and we fully believe it’s right where God wants him. To the natural eyes, he shouldn’t have gotten this job, but God obviously had other plans. There’s a certain peace that comes when you know you’re within God’s plans, and that’s where we are. This job will provide freedoms that we haven’t had prior to this time, including me being able to work entirely from home. This will open up my schedule for more time to be devoted to the blog and my creative outlets (I still want to open up an Etsy shop!).

We’re never too old to begin something. Whether it’s taking a class, having a baby, starting a new job, or moving to a new town, new beginnings are some of the true beauties of life. They teach us just what we’re made of, and they prove to us how strong we are. They can be hard in the moment, but they are always worth it. Even if you don’t see it for a long time, you will one day look back on that starting point and see how it all came to be.

And suddenly you know it’s time to start something new and trust the magic of beginnings.

So don’t be afraid. Take that deep breath, and take the plunge. Start something new. You’ll be glad you did.

Deborahs small signature

Leave a Reply

