Our Favorite Books

ourfavoritebooks

We’re always talking about the books we’re reading right now, but have you ever wondered what our favorite books of all time are? We thought so. And, since you’re now sitting on the edge of your seats dying to know, we thought we’d share a few of them with you.

Our favorite book series:

  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: Before I say anything, read these. They’re so well written, and they go into more depth than the movies. I first heard of these right before the first movie started getting advertised. A friend was reading the series and raving about it on Facebook, but she wouldn’t tell me what it was about. So, when my brother asked what I wanted for Christmas that year, I said “Apparently, The Hunger Games.” It’s your classic dystopian future story where the rich live in wealth and comfort and everyone else is barely scraping by; but, in this world, there’s an annual lottery that pits a boy and a girl from each region (or, district, as they’re known in Panem) against each other in a fight to the death. Much like the Roman gladiators on steroids. I like how Katniss isn’t your helpless girl, even in the beginning. She provides for her family and takes care of her sister. There’s even enough of a love triangle aspect for us romantics, without it taking over the story. She’s a good heroine for girls today to look up to: flawed, but good at heart. -Deborah

“I am not pretty. I am not beautiful. I am as radiant as the sun.”

  • Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling: I’m sure you all know the story… These books are some of the most entertaining, well-written tales of good versus evil you’ll ever read! Championing the values of bravery, loyalty and love, they inspire magical thinking in readers of all ages! Harry Potter encourages us mere Muggles to believe that anything is possible if you’re willing fight for it. While I love the movies, the books will always have a special place in my heart. I look forward to the day when I can share them with my children and tell them how I used to wait in line at Barnes and Noble for the midnight release of the books. (Now, that’s the sign of a good book!) I hope the series will instill in them a love of reading and a belief in the power of storytelling, the way it did for me. –Sarah

“But you know, happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.”

Our favorite stand-alone fiction books:

  • The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton: This one is a classic. My mom had me read it one summer as part of my summer reading list, and I flew through it. It’s definitely a quick read, but you’re left with so many feelings at the end of it. It tells the story of Ponyboy Curtis, a greaser who was born on the wrong side of town. He lives his life like his brothers and friends do, but, as he grows up, he learns that “things are rough all over.” And, just maybe, the Socs (the “good” kids from the other side of town) don’t have it any easier than he does. -Deborah

“It seemed funny to me that the sunset she saw from her patio and the one I saw from the back steps was the same one. Maybe the two different worlds we lived in weren’t so different. We saw the same sunset.”

  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee: I’ve always loved reading and I’ve read a lot of books. Few have made as much of an impact on me as To Kill a Mockingbird. It’s been my all-time favorite book ever since reading it for my eighth grade English class. The story takes place during the Great Depression and is told by Scout, an eight-year old tomboy who spends her Alabama summers trying to catch a peek of the town bogeyman, Boo Radley, with her brother and another boy. When her lawyer-father is hired to defend a black man accused of raping a white woman, Scout begins to lose her innocence as she witnesses prejudices of race and class for the first time. Reading this book at an age when I was still very innocent, this book opened my eyes to the truth of the past, while giving me hope for the future. To Kill a Mockingbird is a beautiful story that reminds us to seek justice for the innocent and to love our neighbor, because love is the only thing powerful enough to defeat hate. I highly recommend reading, or re-reading, this book. And, the movie is almost just as good! –Sarah

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.”

Our favorite non-fiction books:

  • Neon Angel by Cherie Currie: I don’t honestly know that I’d call this my favorite non-fiction, but it’s definitely one of the most interesting ones I’ve read. I’m not a huge non-fiction reader, but I usually am intrigued by the movie, so I read the book. That was the case with Neon Angel; I saw The Runaways, so I read the book it was based on. If you’ve seen the movie, you know how intense it is. It’s the story of The Runaways, a band of teenage girls in the late ’70s. This was the band that started Joan Jett, so you know they rocked hard and partied harder. I think I liked the book because it was so unlike my life. Despite it being a true story, the intensity and un-realness of it made it read like a novel to me. -Deborah

“The friendships that you form when you’re a teenager are among the most intense you will ever experience.”

  • Wild by Cheryl Strayed: This is the true story of twenty-six year old Cheryl Strayed’s 1000+ mile trek across the Pacific Northwest Trail and what drove her to hike it alone, without any training or experience. I’ve always been a fan of wilderness survival stories, but Wild is so much more than that. Struggling with the death of her mother and complicated relationships with both her father and brother, Strayed starts to self-destruct, to the point she doesn’t even recognize herself. This book is about loss and grief and the choices we make, good or bad. It’s about letting go of regrets and accepting failure and finally finding the courage to forgive others and most importantly, yourself. This book proves that you can always find your way again. Maybe not in such an intense and drastic way as Cheryl Strayed. Maybe, just by reading this book. –Sarah

“I knew that if I allowed fear to overtake me, my journey was doomed. Fear, to a great extent, is born of a story we tell ourselves, and so I chose to tell myself a different story from the one women are told. I decided I was safe. I was strong. I was brave. Nothing could vanquish me.”

Have you read any of these, too? What are some of your all-time favorites? Let us know in the comments below!

Deborahs small signature

3 thoughts on “Our Favorite Books

    • 238 Miles Apart April 24, 2016 / 2:36 pm

      Never heard of it, but will definitely look into it now! Thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • mrsstrawberryblonde April 24, 2016 / 2:44 pm

        It’s a very interesting book. I can totally recommend it. The writing is beautiful and the story is, well… it’s about the writer’s real-life brother-in-law who made a deal with the devil…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

