2016 Reading Challenge: March’s Picks

2016 Reading Challenge- MARCH

Happy April, everyone!! Since March has officially come to an end, we thought we’d share the books we read this past month as part of Modern Mrs. Darcy’s 2016 Reading Challenge. It was Sarah’s turn to pick the category and she chose, “A book you own but have never read.” Here are the books we read and our thoughts on each.

 photo See Me_zpse0pvsfty.jpg

Sarah read See Me by Nicholas Sparks.

I am a huge Nicholas Sparks fan and have been ever since the 6th grade, when a friend shared A Walk to Remember with me. In fact, I own hardback copies of all nineteen of his books (with the exception of A Walk to Remember, ironically.) I fell in love with Sparks’ characters and their stories, and it was no different with See Me. I bought the book when it was released in October of last year but, with the busyness of the holidays, I never got around to reading it. Thankfully, this challenge gave me a reason to pick it up again!

See Me tells the love story of Maria Sanchez, a former prosecutor for the DA who’s now working in insurance law, and Colin Hancock, an MMA fighter with anger issues who’s trying to get his life on track. Both are facing things from their past that threaten to come back and haunt them. But, they are unfailingly honest with each other from the beginning and eventually learn to lean on each other for strength. This novel is a mixture of romance and thriller, and it keeps you guessing till the very end. I was completely surprised by who the evil mastermind stalking Maria turned out to be!

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. Even though the book is a bit on the longer side at almost 500 pages, it’s a fast read. It would make a great book to read poolside this summer! I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good romance with a touch of suspense.

 photo Pride and Prejudice_zpsoy50avhf.jpg

Deborah read Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

So, remember how I said I have decided I like having an e-reader? Well, I found that out by reading what I chose for this month’s challenge. It was none other than the classic romance Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. Because it’s such an old book, I found the Kindle edition for free a while back, but I never took the time to sit down and read it. Despite iPhone screens getting larger, they’re still a pain for reading.

I somehow managed to avoid a lot of the classics in high school. Not on purpose, they just didn’t come up in the curriculum. Jane Austen was one of those authors I never met in high school. I read a little Charlotte Brontë (Jane Eyre) and some George Orwell (Animal Farm), and of course Shakespeare (Julius Caesar). There’s actually not much to the story line of Pride and Prejudice. It’s ultimately about a woman trying to marry her daughters off to the right men, but, her idea of the right man for her daughter Elizabeth is not the same as Elizabeth’s. The best parts of the book are the dialogue. Everyone swoons at Mr. Darcy’s lines (what girl wouldn’t want a man to tell her she bewitches him “body and soul”?), but I especially love Elizabeth’s wit. Personally, I think Keira Knightley was perfect in the movie. As the story progresses, Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy learn to overcome their pride and their prejudices against each other to realize they have fallen madly in love with each other.

In vain have I struggled, it will not do. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.
-Mr. Darcy

I’ll be honest. This is not an easy book to read. I usually tell people to read the book before they see the movie, but, for me, seeing the movie first helped me read the book. Because I had previously compacted the story down to just a few hours, and because I knew what was happening in the story, it was easier to wade through the old English and to follow the story line. It’s not a book that you can pick up when you have a few spare minute. It’s best read in more lengthy periods (I did most of my reading on the 4 hour drive to and from Jacksonville), so, if you like the classics, this could be another poolside favorite.

 photo March2016RC_zpso2olvzwg.jpg

How about you? Did you read something new this month? Or have you read either of the books we read? What did you think? Let us know in the comments!

jointsignature2

Leave a Reply

