How to Use Olive Oil Outside the Kitchen

oliveoil

Everybody knows tons of ways to use olive oil in the kitchen. You cook with it, you clean with it, and it does wonders for the life of your cast iron! But, when Influenster gave me the opportunity to try out Filippo Berio‘s new Robusto Extra Virgin Olive Oil, I decided to try a couple new things.

If you’re anything like me, there’s two beauty regimens that you’re not a huge fan of: shaving and skin care. I do both of them, of course, but they’re not my favorite. It’s fun to try new hairstyles and new makeup and especially new nail care (who else is loving the spring nail polish colors this year?!), but basic skin care? Meh.

I love having clear, healthy skin, but, even as an adult, it’s something I’ve struggled with. I don’t have major skin issues, but I always wish my face were a little clearer. I have the same problem areas as most people: forehead, cheeks, and chin. So, when my brother-in-law mentioned a DIY face scrub he uses, I decided to whip up a batch!

 photo coffeescrub_zps0ups3cgp.jpg

  • 1/4 cup coffee grounds (I used my Panera Hazelnut Crème coffee)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar (he said the coarser, the better)
  • 1 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO, as the foodies call it)
  • dash of cinnamon

I grabbed a small plastic container I had and poured in all the dry ingredients. I mixed them up (carefully), then added in the olive oil. It took all of 2 minutes to put it all together, and I was set for a week or two. I’ve found the best thing is to apply the scrub right before you get in the shower. Spread it all over your face, then hop right in. It doesn’t hurt to let it stay on your skin for a few minutes either, especially if you want to absorb a little extra caffeine! Rinse it off, then go on about your regular shower. Be sure to follow it up by washing your face to get rid of the excess olive oil. As an added bonus, the steam from the shower helps you smell the coffee the whole time!

 photo 17-leg-shaving-42-17526978_zpsfnnscpga.jpg

My absolute least favorite thing in the world is shaving. I love the way it feels to have smooth legs, but I hate the process of acquiring them. I’m always saying that, if I were to win the lottery, the first thing I’d get myself would be laser hair removal. To never have to shave again would be amazing! With my pale skin and dark, fast-growing hair, I don’t have the luxury of putting off shaving my legs as long as some girls can. And, with summer and shorts and the beach right around the corner, I’m looking for any way I can find to ease the process of shaving my legs.

When shaving in the shower, I run into the problem of losing all my hot water after I’ve fully shaved one leg. So, I’m left with ice cold water for the other leg, which causes goosebumps, which don’t make for a particularly smooth or close shave. Enter EVOO. The great thing about shaving with olive oil is that you specifically don’t use water! The two don’t mix, remember, so you can start with dry legs. This is another thing that’s good to do right before the shower. I found the best practice is to pour a tiny bit in  your non-shaving hand, spread it all over the area you’re ready to shave (I usually start at the bottom and work my way up), and go at it.

My first time shaving with oil, I ran the faucet the whole time, but I still had a devil of a time rinsing out the blade. Part of that could have been because I’d put off shaving for so long (it was still technically winter, people), nevertheless, the next time, I took a page out of hubby’s book. I filled the sink with hot water, and swished my razor around in the water each time I needed to rinse. It used a lot less water, and it seemed to work better too!

Because olive oil is also a good moisturizer, your legs don’t need lotioning right after either. If you’re not hopping right into the shower, be sure to rub in any excess oil. If you are taking a shower immediately, be careful you don’t slip and fall in the shower from any oil runoff. Whether you shower right after or not though, you’re guaranteed a smooth finish.

The shaving is even hubby approved! He’s shaved his face using EVOO several times now, and he’s happy with the results. Both of us would get red itchy bumps a few days after shaving (him on his neck, me on the back of my thighs), but both of us have hardly any skin irritation since using oil. He also said that he’s noticed that, if he nicks himself while shaving with the oil, he seems to bleed less than when he would have with shaving cream.

So there you have it. Just a couple ways to use olive oil in places other than the kitchen. I know some people use it to polish furniture, and some people use it as a moisturizer on its own. However you use it, it’s always great to find ways to use natural materials in place of some of the crazy chemicals we use most of the time.

How about you? Do you have a favorite DIY scrub or shaving alternative? Tell us about it in the comments!

Deborahs small signature

 

 

 

I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.
2 thoughts on “How to Use Olive Oil Outside the Kitchen

  1. mrsstrawberryblonde March 31, 2016 / 12:04 pm

    I never thought of using olive to shave my legs. It sounds great and it saved water. think I’ll try it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

