DIY Burlap Wall Art

In our house, the electrical panel is centered on the most prominent wall in the kitchen, which is poor placement, to say the least. In fact, I’ve been trying to cover it up ever since we moved in two years ago this month!

I started with a schoolhouse chalkboard and LOVED it. But it was big and heavy, and difficult to move if we needed to get to the panel quickly. So, my husband and I decided to put a lighter Marilyn Monroe picture in its place until we found something else. The print is from Ryan’s bachelor days and, while we both agreed it wasn’t the look we were going for in our “grown-up” house, we were desperate.

 photo FullSizeRender_zpseekybmnv.jpg

Unfortunately, we never really got around to finding something else and Marilyn ended up joining my family for Thanksgiving dinner this past November! I realized, it was finally time for a change. Unable to agree on new artwork during our latest trip to HomeGoods, I decided I would make my own.

 photo FullSizeRender 7_zpsbwzeem4d.jpg

A while back, I found this burlap coffee bean sack at an antique store. I wasn’t sure how I would use it when I bought it, but I later realized it would make great wall art for our kitchen!

To make your own burlap wall art, you will need:

  • One burlap sack
  • One fine art canvas, in a comparable size (I used a 24” x 30” canvas.)
  • Staple gun
  • Scissors

Depending on how wrinkled your burlap is, you may want to try ironing it inside out. (This will also help to get any remaining coffee beans out of the sack!) I ironed mine briefly on medium-high heat. Then, I measured it to the canvas and decided where I wanted to cut it.

 photo FullSizeRender 1_zpsqddkgfzp.jpg

Burlap has the tendency to fray and unravel when cut. To deter this, pull up one of the vertical threads in the exact spot you want to cut your material. Working slowly, start to pull the thread out. The material will start to bunch up, just smooth it out as you go. Remove the thread completely.

 photo FullSizeRender 2_zpscmtokf8p.jpg

Once the single thread is removed, you will be left with a space in the burlap, marking where the thread was. Carefully cut the material along that line to prevent it from unraveling and repeat on all four sides.

 photo FullSizeRender 5_zpsji1pxtnf.jpg

Once you cut the burlap to your ideal size, it’s time to attach it to the canvas. Wrap the material around to the back of the canvas and staple it to the wood frame. I recommend aligning the top of your canvas and stapling that first. Pull the burlap tight as you work, taking your time to get the corners just right.

 photo FullSizeRender 6_zpsfzc1vbhf.jpg

Overall, this project took me less than an hour and cost under $20. It’s the perfect size to hide our unsightly electrical panel and it looks great hanging in our kitchen! I hope you enjoy this simple but charming DIY project. ❤

blogsignature

2 thoughts on “DIY Burlap Wall Art

Leave a Reply

