Happy Mondays and New Starbucks Frappuccinos®

 photo hero-headline-desktop-2_zps7oibjts9.jpg

Ah, Starbucks. That time has come again. It’s Happy Mondays time! For the entire month of March, there is a special deal going on at Starbucks each Monday from 2pm to close that is only available to registered Starbucks Rewards members.

MONDAY MARCH 7
Cool Off for Half Off
Get half off any Frappuccino® blended beverage, no matter how grande.

MONDAY MARCH 14
Bring Back Snack Time
Sip, snack and save. Come in for an afternoon drink and get half off any food item.

MONDAY MARCH 21
Hop in the Fast Lane
Earn 3 Bonus Stars when you order and pay ahead using the Starbucks® App.

MONDAY MARCH 28
Shop and Shine
Earn 5 Bonus Stars when you spend $10 or more in store.

 photo Smoked-Butterscotch-Latte-and-Teavana-Citrus-Green-Tea-Latte_zpsw5s0yqa4.jpg

Yesterday, since it was the half-price Frappuccino® deal, I decided to try the new Citrus Green Tea Frappuccino®, since I had tried the Smoked Butterscotch Frappuccino® over the weekend.

According to Starbucks.com, the Citrus Green Tea Frappuccino® is made when “shade-grown, micro-ground full leaf green tea is blended with a citrus mint syrup, milk and ice, then topped with a sprinkling of lemon essence.” Sounds kinda refreshing, right? With these warmer temperatures finally arriving, especially in the afternoon right after I get off work, I was kinda excited to try this one! That ended up being a mistake. Sadly, the citrus flavors seemed to overpower the whole drink for me. The best way I could think to describe it was “creamy soap”. Did your mom every wash your mouth out with soap when you were a kid? That’s all I could think of as I carefully sipped it on my ride home after work. Even then, I ended up only drinking about half of it. I guess that’s fair since the price was half of the usual, but I was kinda bummed that I had essentially wasted my half-off Frappuccino®, especially since I’ve concocted my own tasty creation! (3 pumps mocha, 3 pumps hazelnut, 2 pumps toffee. Try it, thank me later.)

This past Friday, I tried the Smoked Butterscotch Frappuccino®, and it was actually pretty good. According to Starbucks.com, it’s made when “notes of smoked butterscotch and a dash of spice are blended with Frappuccino® roast, milk and ice.” Lots of people online had said that it was supposed to taste like Butterbeer, so I was definitely intrigued. I feel like this one would be just as good as a hot latte or the frozen Frappuccino®. My favorite part was the “smoked” part. It wasn’t overpowering, but it gave you a smoky aftertaste that had me thinking I was sitting next to a bonfire with friends! I wish the butterscotch flavor had been a little more strong and pronounced, but overall it was pretty tasty.

Of the two, I definitely preferred the Smoked Butterscotch Frappuccino®, but even it wasn’t enough to have me dying to get another one. I’m not too worried though, because, with all the different Happy Mondays deals that are coming up this month, I’ll have the opportunity to treat myself to all kinds of things!

Have you tried either of these new Starbucks concoctions? Are you planning on taking advantage of a Happy Mondays deal this month? Tell us about it in the comments!

Deborahs small signature

All pictures are from Starbucks.com. I wasn’t paid to write this post, because, face it, who would pay me to say I didn’t like their drinks?!

*Update: Starbucks has amazing customer service!!! In case you didn’t already know, if you order a drink at Starbucks, and you don’t like it, your barista will either remake it or make you a totally different drink. When I ordered the Citrus Green Tea Frappuccino®, I made it all the way home before I realized how much I didn’t like it. I emailed customer service about it, and I promptly received a personal note from one of their customer care representatives. Also, since I had already left the store, she credited my registered Starbucks card with $4 (the average price of a Frappuccino®).

Thanks, Starbucks!

Leave a Reply

