A Minimalist Makeup Routine

A while back, my husband pointed out the large amount of free samples and old makeup crowding our bathroom vanity. Seeing how right he was—though I didn’t admit it to him!—I decided it was time to get rid of a few things. I thought about my daily makeup routine and realized that I only use a handful of products on a regular basis. The rest of it, for the most part, was unnecessary.

 photo IMG_2711_zpsz4fc46ha.jpg
Goodbye, makeup!

I threw a lot of it out and what I was left with was a more minimalist approach to makeup. So, today I’m sharing my quick and easy beauty routine with you. It takes less than ten minutes and you only need seven products!! Promise!

minimalistMAKEUProutine

  1. MOISTURIZE. Always, always, always moisturize your face! Find a good facial lotion that works well with your skin-type and won’t clog your pores. I recommend Olay’s Complete All Day Moisturizer with Sunscreen. A small amount goes a long way and it feels very light on your skin. It does a great job and even has sunscreen in it to protect you from harmful UV rays!
  2. COVER YOUR BASES. Once the moisturizer is fully absorbed, apply a thin layer of foundation to your face. This can act as a base for powder or stand on its own. In my opinion, less is more, so I use Covergirl’s Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 Foundation by itself. Then, apply a lip primer like this one from MAC, or use lip balm. It won’t last as long as primer, but it will help your lipstick go on smoothly, while keeping your lips soft. I prefer EOS.
  3. HIGHLIGHT YOUR FEATURES. Now, for the finishing touches! Highlight those beautiful eyes with some mascara (this one’s my favorite!) and an eyebrow pencil. Draw some attention to your cheekbones with a touch of blush and use lipstick to add some color to your lips.
 photo IMG_2708_zpshfy883hm.jpg
Before and after.

That’s it! You can do your makeup in less than ten minutes, using just seven products. But that’s not to say you should limit yourself to only those products. I also keep a good concealer on hand, in case I get stressed out and wake up with a huge zit (like I did on my wedding day). Or, if I get a bad night’s rest and have bags under my eyes the next day, I use Garnier’s Skin Renew Anti-Dark-Circle Roller. I also take more time with my makeup if I’m going out for a special occasion or date night with my husband, adding eyeliner and some of this fancy eyeshadow!

In my experience, adopting a minimalist approach to makeup overall will not only reduce the amount of clutter in your vanity, but also the amount of time it takes you to get ready. It’s a win-win!

What does your daily makeup routine look like? And, what are some of your favorite products? I’d love to hear from you!

blogsignature

2 thoughts on “A Minimalist Makeup Routine

Leave a Reply

