Deborah’s Desk Tour

Okay, so I don’t know if I’ve told y’all this, but I finally have a desk of my own! I haven’t had one of these since high school (over 10 years, folks!). I had a little table before this desk, but it pretty much held my laptop and not much else. Since I’m doing more work from home now, Andrew decided it was time for me to have a proper desk. I originally wanted this desk, but, upon closer inspection at the store, we decided it wasn’t the sturdiest or best quality.

As we went back to the drawing board (Pinterest board, that is), and saw a trend in the desks and office spaces I’d pinned. I liked bigger desks that allowed for room to spread out and craft. I remembered the one Michael’s had, and that was it. I’m now the proud owner of a Recollections™ Craft Storage System desk.

 photo IMG_2235_zpsav7cfbgm.jpg

Naturally, a new desk needed a new chair. That I was able to stick with my original desire from Office Depot, the Realspace® Winsley Mid-back chair in white (to match my desk).

 

 photo deskchair_zpshjsattzj.jpg
Image credit: OfficeDepot.com

I’m still putting everything else together, but I thought I’d show you a few of the things sprinkled around on my desk.

If you follow either me or Sarah on Instagram, you saw how we each won a copy of this lovely watercolor print from Laura Trevey. I love the bright cheery colors, and it reminds me of Sarah every time I look at it!

I have a ton of these painted mason jars in my garage, and they are perfect for my desk! I have four that I’m using at the moment: markers, pens, paint pens, and miscellaneous.

 photo LOVEacrylictray_zpsu2zxd24e.jpg
Image credit: francescas.com

Speaking of miscellaneous, this tray is perfect for catching all my odds and ends. It keeps them from spreading across my desk for the most part. Right now it’s holding my earbuds, a pencil sharpener, super glue, nail polish, a bottle of hand sanitizer, and other random stuff.

 photo il_570xN.642445266_q6be_zpsct72h7xp.jpg
Image credit: Little Hawthorne

With a white desktop, I especially needed a mousepad, so I wasn’t marking up the surface. I took to Etsy, and discovered this awesome shop, Little Hawthorne. She has tons of cute mousepads and even some matching coasters!

 photo IMG_2327_zpsmfmye9kj.jpg

These are also from the Recollections™ craft storage line at Michael’s. There’s a single base piece, then you can buy the top two as a set. They’re stackable, so they don’t take up much room, and I love having the extra little spots on the side for a few pens. They also double as a bookend with their flat sides!

 photo 81J5jQ7abdL._SY679__zps2ofht8oe.jpg
Image credit: Amazon.com

And, of course, some chocolate. Andrew bought me a bag of these for Valentine’s Day, and I’ve been trying to not eat them all in one sitting. Really digging the salt and dark chocolate flavor.

But, you know what the best part of my desk is? The fact that it’s my own little space. My stuff is here, right where I want it. I can have my cup of coffee, my planner, and the V-day card I got from my husband all right here around me. As a married person who now has a forever roommate, it’s nice to have a little corner to call all mine.

Now to tackle all the available storage space…

Do you have a whole room devoted to  your favorite craft, or do you just a have a cozy reading nook in the corner? Tell me about it in the comments, or even share a picture!

Deborahs small signature

One thought on “Deborah’s Desk Tour

  1. Erin February 18, 2016 / 5:32 pm

    Love!!! Makes me wanna get a desk and get my stuff together!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

