Just Do It.

Have you ever seen something and thought, “Wow, that’s so cool! I wish I could do that…” I’m sure we all have. In this day of Pinterest, YouTube, and Facebook, we’re constantly bombarded with videos and how-to’s that make everything look so easy!

That’s how I was with hand-lettering. I’m not sure what first got me into it. Maybe it was the fact that I like typography art. Maybe it was that, after looking at so many different types of fonts, I realized that some of them could be drawn by hand. Maybe it was the hypnotic feel of watching videos of people making those beautiful pieces of art flow from their pens. Whatever it was, I was hooked. But I was scared too.

You see, I’m somewhat of a perfectionist. I was worried that if I tried to make something like all these amazing artists were making, it wouldn’t come out right, and I would have failed. I though that, if I didn’t try, I couldn’t fail. I couldn’t waste my time on something that would ultimately end up being a mistake.

Then, something I saw on Pinterest rang true. It was a blog post from someone who once felt the same as me. She didn’t want to start hand lettering til she had all the perfect tools and such, but then, one day, she decided to stop waiting. She grabbed a piece of paper and a regular old pen that she already had, and she just started drawing.

So, I took the plunge. I picked up a regular old pen that I already had, and I just started drawing. I had watched a ton of videos done my research, so I had some ideas of where to start. I loved the look of the fake calligraphy, so I doodled out a friend’s name on the envelope for her baby shower card from me. She pulled it out at the shower, and she immediately knew it was from me. People started to watch for my hand-lettering projects on my Instagram and Facebook.

So, what’s the moral of the story? Just do it. Stop waiting for the perfect moment or the perfect tools or the perfect inspiration. If there’s a new hobby or a new skill that you want to pick up, go for it! Find out if you even like it before you go out and spend a ton of money on supplies. Do you want to crochet a fancy blanket? Start with a simple scarf. Want to paint like Bob Ross? Start with a cheap little watercolor set and paint some basic stick figures. Want to hand-letter? Grab a regular old pen, a piece of paper, and write your name.

That’s all there is to it.

JustDoIt

Deborahs small signature

Leave a Reply

