DIY Christmas Decor

As I mentioned a while back, I am currently obsessed with the color gold! Naturally, I had to find a way to integrate it into my Christmas décor—which is primarily red and green. But, I didn’t want to buy all new stuff. I love the Christmas decorations I’ve accumulated over the past few years.

So, I decided to put most of the red and green stuff in the living room and sprinkle some gold throughout the office, where I spend most of my time anyway. I added some small, gold floral picks from Michaels to a mixture of cinnamon-scented pinecones.

 photo IMG_2050_zps1pdastox.jpg

Still, it needed something else. Something a bit more glamorous. 🙂

 photo IMG_2047_zpsouqng8xp.jpg

That’s more like it! And the best part is—it’s completely DIY.

Here are the supplies you’ll need:

  • 4 small, glass cylinders (I found mine at the dollar store.)
  • Acrylic paint (I used white and gold, also from Michaels.)
  • 2 paintbrushes, one large and one small
  • Sharpie
  • Washi tape

First, make a stencil for the word you want to use with Microsoft Word. (I chose, “Noel.”) Select a large, block font, like 200 pt. AR Julian. This will allow you to cut the letters out, making your own stencil.

 photo IMG_2022_zpstlanpzjc.jpg

Then, wipe down all of the cylinders with rubbing alcohol, which makes the paint adhere better, and paint them white.

 photo IMG_2027_zpsk4my6csn.jpg

Next, trace the letters of your “stencil” onto the cylinders with a pencil.

 photo IMG_2032_zpsb3xm0pxi.jpg

Fill in the letters with metallic, gold paint. I did two coats.

 photo IMG_2034_zps8wrhcf5y.jpg

Outline the letters with a black Sharpie, to make them stand out a little more. 

 photo IMG_2038_zps4jdorlfp.jpg

Along the way, I added some gold detailing along the top and bottom of the cylinder, but I wasn’t thrilled with how the bottom turned out. (In hindsight, I should have used painter’s tape to create a more crisp line.) So, I took some of the washi tape I had on hand, and placed it along the bottom of each cylinder.

 photo IMG_2044_zpsy5wb3tyq.jpg

All in all, they turned out great! Especially, with battery-powered tealights (also from the dollar store) illuminating the letters. The washi tape even added a special touch!

My favorite thing about this project is that it can be customized for any holiday. You can even spell out someone’s name to make a unique gift! It only took me an hour, using a hairdryer to dry the paint, and cost me under $10. (I already had the paintbrushes, Sharpie and washi tape.) Happy crafting!

What are some DIY projects you’re working on this month?

blogsignature

Leave a Reply

