The Year Without a Christmas Tree

Christmas Tree

If your home is anything like mine, you have tons of stuff. Everywhere! Normally, it’s not a big deal, but, when it comes to bringing a full size, 7 foot live tree into the middle of it, it becomes a big deal. Most people can move a chair or a table or something small to make it work for the month or so you’ve got your Christmas tree up. But, what if you’re not one of those people? Or what if you’re traveling a lot this holiday season, and you’re not sure you’ll be able to keep a live tree watered? And what if you don’t have a fake tree to use in place of it?

Never fear! Take one look online and you’ll see that there are tons of options for having a warm festive home sans your traditional Christmas tree.

I love coming home to this on my front door!!! #makersgonnamake #christmaswreath #merrychristmas

A post shared by Deborah Poe (@strangeblueeyes) on

  • Christmas Wreaths. As I showed you in my post last week, making your very own wreath isn’t nearly as daunting as you’d expect it to be. They’re traditionally hung on the front door to welcome guests into your home, but there’s no rule against having a few inside too! Some Christmas tree sellers will let you snag the stray branches that get trimmed off, if you’re game for creating your own wreath from scratch!
  • Stockings. These are another traditional (and obvious) decoration! Don’t have a mantle to hang your stockings from? For the season, you can totally hang them from the hooks in your entryway that usually hold keys or coats. Then, take them down and lay them over the back of the couch so Santa can find them (and fill them) on Christmas Eve.

#washitape tree above the couch. Even hung a few ornaments on it. 🎄😊 #nontraditional #christmasdecorations

A post shared by Deborah Poe (@strangeblueeyes) on

  • Washi Tape Tree. This is actually what I’ve opted for this year. Being in a rental, we’re not supposed to put holes in the walls, so I couldn’t really hang stuff on the walls, but washi tape solved that! It doesn’t peel the paint off when you stick it on the wall. I didn’t want just a solid green tree, so I got some gold washi from Target too, and did every other line with it. It looked a little unfinished though, so I added some red with some “ornaments.”
  • Pillows. This is probably one of the easiest way to add some holiday flair to your home. Some people have Christmas pillows, while others just put Christmas pillowcases over the pillows they have all year round (which makes for packing up in January much easier!). They’re also easy enough to make and decorate, so, if you can’t find exactly what you have in mind, make it yourself! They make great Secret Santa gifts too.

Jute garland and ornaments over the other couch! #christmasdecorations

A post shared by Deborah Poe (@strangeblueeyes) on

  • Garlands. Garlands are another way to get the green without a tree. You can do the traditional greenery, or you can string your lights around the room. There’s also “Merry Christmas” banners or just simple shapes that bring in those beautiful Christmas colors to your home.
  • Cards. I don’t know about you, but I love receiving Christmas cards! They’re always so beautiful, and I especially love the ones that include family pictures of my loved ones. I hate to stuff them back in the envelope after I read them, so I incorporate them into my decor. Growing up, my mom would tape them around a doorway, and my grandma taped them all over the doors of the closet in the living room. It’s also another neat idea for a garland: take a string of hemp or jute and just use clothespins to clip the cards and photos to the string. You can even leave that up all year and change out what’s clipped up. Oh, and be sure to use Command hooks so you don’t have to put holes in the wall!

"Behold the awe and wonder of the Christmas Story"

A post shared by Deborah Poe (@strangeblueeyes) on

  • Nativity. I grew up with an old nativity set in my mom’s house that was passed down to her from her mom. In my house though, I’m building the Willow Tree® figurines Nativity set. I’ve only got the base set so far, but over time I hope to add more shepherds, animals, the wise men, and at least one angel. Something about the simple beauty of these figurines makes them so perfect.
  • Candles. Lastly, candles. The best part of having a live tree is the smell. So, if you can’t have the tree, have the next best thing! Yankee Candle‘s Mistletoe candles and Bath & Body’s WorksFresh Balsam candles are my favorites. Every time I sniff them, no matter what time of the year it is, I immediately think of Christmas. Love them!

Special thanks to Scotch® Expressions Washi Tape, Command Hooks, Willow Tree®, and Bath & Body Works for making my home feel Christmas-y this year.

So, there’s a few ideas of how to mix it up this Christmas. Do you have a tree this year? How are you decorating your home? Let me know in the comments below. I’d love to see some pictures!

Deborahs small signature

Leave a Reply

