Current Favorites

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving! It’s finally here! In honor of this holiday, and in order to spend time with our families, we’re taking tomorrow off. We do want to leave you with some of our current favorites though.

Deborah is loving…

  • #MerryMondays at Starbucks. The time has come again! Every year, around this time, Starbucks will run weekly specials for their rewards club members. We’re halfway through this year’s. The first week was an extra day of the BOGO on their holiday beverages, and, this past Monday, you could get a free holiday bakery item if you bought a holiday drink. There are two more Mondays, so be sure to take advantage of them! They run from 2PM-Close, so it’s the perfect treat for yourself and a friend after surviving the Monday blues.
  • The Happy Planner Recipe Organizer. This was one of my birthday presents from my hubby! It’s a blank cookbook from Me & My Big Ideas. The kit that I got (which I believe is no longer available, as it was a limited quantities item) came with the organizer, a few sheets of stickers (they say “Love it”, “Family Favorite”, and things like that), a couple magnetic bookmarks, and some cute sticky notes. I love that it’s not divided like most cookbooks are (appetizers, entrees, desserts, etc.). This one has Family Favorites, Main Dishes, Entertaining, Slow Cooker, Healthy Fare, Quick & Easy, Desserts, and Miscellaneous. I’m sure you’ll be hearing more about it in the future… *wink*
  • Saucony’s Cohesion 8 tennis shoes. While these weren’t part of my birthday gifts, they are new! Andrew and I need to get in shape, but neither of us are that into the gym. We do, however, have a great walking trail about 5 minutes down the road from us that just loops around a pond. There’s wifi from Google (perfect for my Spotify app), and they’ve already measured the distance of each lap (about .5 miles), so it’s easy to know how far you’ve walked/jogged/run. Unfortunately, neither of us had properly fitting tennis shoes. Shoe Carnival, though, was more than happy to help us out with that. We both wore them all day Monday as we were walking in the park, hitting tennis balls around, and going out for dessert with friends. Both of us love our new shoes, and we’re hoping to get some good use out of them as we get in better shape.

Sarah is loving…

chimichurri_zps36mh7bmj
image credit: Gimme Some Oven
  • Chimichurri sauce. In my twenty-seven years of existence, I’d never had chimichurri sauce until the other night. I can’t believe the tasty goodness I’ve been missing out on! My husband and I went out for one of our fancier date nights a couple of weeks ago to this restaurant, Jaxon Social. (If you live in Jacksonville, make sure to check this place out. They’re a little pricey but the food is delicious!) Anyway, Ryan ordered a sirloin steak over basmati rice, served with peppers and onions, and topped with this delicious chimichurri sauce. It was amazing—I know because Ryan was nice enough to share. 🙂 The sauce totally made the dish! Since then, I’ve been hooked on chimichurri but haven’t had an occasion to make it. That changes this weekend. After the Thanksgiving leftovers run out, I’m making barbacoa tacos with chimichurri sauce, using recipes from Gimme Some Oven. You know it’s going to be good. My mouth is watering already!

adele2025_zpskpglugz7

  • Adele’s new album. I know, I know! I was just talking about Adele a few weeks ago. HOWEVER. Her new album, 25, just released this past Friday and I’m loving it! The album is wonderful, just like her previous two, 19 and 21. (Yes, the album titles correspond to her age. Isn’t it incredible how young she is?!) Some of the music has more of a pop sound to it this time around, but it stays true to the soulful, piano-driven style that is Adele. The songs are also more mature and positive in nature. You can tell she’s still hurting from a past relationship but she’s focused on the future and moving past the pain. I really love this album and think you will too. You can get it from Target through the end of the week for only $9.99 or $12.99 with three additional songs. I splurged for the extra songs and don’t regret it at all. 🙂
  • Not working retail during the holidays. For the past seven years, I’ve spent every holiday season working at a bookstore in a busy shopping center. Christmas merchandise came in as early as July and all of the decorations were up by Halloween. Thanksgiving took place but it was always overshadowed by Black Friday. I didn’t mind the crowds or waking up early. What bothered me was the constant rushing from one holiday to the next, which was really just a full sprint to Christmas with some candy in October and a turkey in November. Not this year though. Transitioning out of retail has really allowed me to enjoy the holidays again. No more being sick of Christmas music before it’s December or leaving Thanksgiving dinner early to get some sleep before having to be up early for the madness of Black Friday. Instead, tomorrow I will enjoy a full day with my family and wait until it’s over to deck the halls. And, whenever I visit a retail store this holiday season, I will be kind to the employees because I know what it’s like to be in their shoes. I may be loving the fact that I’m not working retail this year but I am very thankful for the people that are.

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

jointsignature2

     

    Leave a Reply

    