Baby Fever

Okay, you had to know it was coming. This is a blog by two girls who are both married and in their late 20s. We’ve both been married for a few years now, so we’re out of the honeymoon phase. And the time has come…

Baby time.

Oh, yes. I don’t know about Sarah, but in my [local] world, babies are popping up everywhere! I had three friends who were all pregnant in the first half of this year, so I made sure to avoid the water. I now have a friend who just had her first, another who just announced being pregnant with her fourth, and a third who is adopting a baby girl who was due yesterday. So exciting for all these precious new tiny humans coming into the world and for their families as they expand.

I’m one of those weird people who actually doesn’t mind going to showers, bridal or baby. I think it’s because I remember how much I wanted my friends and family there with me to celebrate at my own shower; I’ve endeavored to make it to every shower I’ve been invited to since then. I can contribute a little more to conversations at the bridal showers, of course, but I still like the baby showers. The goofy games, the cute clothes, and the stories.

I like to be prepared as much as possible when I go into a new situation. Well, by prepared, I mean I like to have as much of an idea of what’s going to happen as I can. I ask questions. Lots of questions. I’m sure some of them seem dumb, but I can’t know unless I ask. And I always learn things from these stories! I’ve learned that, just because your water breaks, it doesn’t necessarily mean your contractions will follow shortly. I’ve learned that, when a woman gives birth to a baby, there is a hormone that her body produces that causes her to bond with the baby and the father in a special way. I’ve learned that there are definitely pros and cons to cloth diapers. I’ve learned that my friends who are mothers are even stronger than I could ever imagine! I’ve learned that I’m actually a little terrified of the actual birthing process, but I already know that the reward of being a mother to a tiny person far outweighs the temporary struggle of that time.

For now, though, I’m using my friends’ babies as an excuse to wander through Babies R Us and the baby section at Target. It’s also an excuse to experience that amazing smell that is the top of a baby’s head without having to take care of any smells coming from the other end! I volunteer in my church’s nursery too, which gives me even more opportunity to love on all of these sweet boys and girls. My “sister” is the mother of three of my favorite kids in the entire world (I’ve actually got lots of favorites, but three of them are hers), and I’ve especially loved watching her youngest as she’s grown up over the past few years. She’s probably the first kid I’ve known since before birth and been able to be there to watch her become her own little person. It amazes me to see her form her own personality, and I loved hearing her first words and seeing some of her first steps. She’s reached that point where she’s speaking in complete sentences, and she gets so excited every time Andrew and I walk through the door. Another of my favorite kids is a little older than her, but he loves my guitar. I have a blue bass, and, every time I pull it out for church, he points it out and asks me about it. He’s reached the point where he has full conversations with me too. I love it!

My mother-in-law has been ready for grandkids since day 1, but my mom keeps telling us to take our time. Andrew and I had decided that we’d spend the first few years enjoying it being just us, but I think we’re at the point where babies are legitimately on the horizon. It’s not an eventually-one-day-we’ll-have-kids thing; we’re officially talking about it.

And I’m excited to see where that adventure will eventually take us.

Deborahs small signature

2 thoughts on “Baby Fever

  1. Lauren November 13, 2015 / 3:55 pm

    eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

    Like

  2. Leah November 13, 2015 / 9:07 pm

    Awe yeah!! Love this, so happy that y’all are talking about it! Babies are one of the best gifts that God gives people! 💙💙💙

    Like

Leave a Reply

