Decorating your Home for Fall

As Deborah mentioned yesterday, November is upon us and fall is in full swing! October was nice but November does my soul good. This month brings with it a season of gratitude and spending time with loved ones that lasts into the New Year. Thanksgiving is just a few weeks away and it’s time to prepare our hearts and homes for holiday homecomings and get-togethers with friends.

One could argue that decorating your home is not a worthwhile way to spend your time or money, but I disagree. When you decorate your home, you create an atmosphere; not just for your guests, but for you and your family, as well. I believe that a few simple touches can evoke feelings of calmness and joy, and can even remind us to be thankful for what we have. Here are a few ways I like decorate for fall.

Because I don’t have a green thumb, my yard is nothing fancy. There are a couple of potted plants that I’m constantly trying to resuscitate and that’s it. However, it’s always been a personal goal of mine to have a pretty wreath on the door. It’s my way of welcoming guests to our home. I made this wreath in November of last year and love how it turned out. It’s simple but beautiful, reminding me to live my life in a similar way.

Inside the home, I want it to not only look like fall, but smell like it, too! A couple of Christmases ago, Ryan’s mom gave us a Scentsy and we’ve used it continually ever since. It makes the house smell wonderful and it looks so pretty lit up at night. We put it in the living room so that it’s the first thing you smell when you walk in the door, instantly making you feel at home. The best thing about it, and other warmers, is that you can use any brand of wax melts with it. Hence, the amazing Ginger Caramel Apple melts I found at Michaels. Making the home smell good relaxes me and my guests during what can sometimes be a stressful time of year.

Finally, I like to use small decorative touches around the house to indicate the transition from summer to fall, and from Halloween to Thanksgiving. A few of the knick-knacks I’ve accumulated over the years, like the squash, adorn shelves and tables in the common areas. This year, I even added a couple of new throw pillows to the couch, tying in the orange and brown hues of autumn. The “thankful” one is my favorite. It’s a constant reminder for me to focus on what this season is really about and to be content with what I have.

No matter how you choose to decorate your home, having a home that’s magazine-ready isn’t the goal. Instead, I encourage you to only make changes that bring you happiness and allow you to be at rest in your home. I try to make my home an inspiring place for all that come into it but it’s only worth it if it helps you to focus on the blessings around you.

blogsignature

Leave a Reply

