Current Favorites

Hello! How was your weekend? If it was anything like ours, it was probably crazy busy—but in a good way. Daylight Savings Time couldn’t have ended at a better time! We savored that extra hour of sleep on Sunday and hope you did, too. Here’s a new list of favorites to get your Monday started right.

Deborah’s loving…

  • The Coastal Carolina Fair. This past Thursday, the fair arrived here in Charleston! The fair signals the true beginning of fall around here; ask any Charleston native, and they’ll tell you that fall doesn’t truly start until the fair comes to town. It’s like the weather knows to wait, but, once it’s here, be prepared to at least need a hoodie on those spinning, whirling, twirling rides in the evening. I went to the fair in Jacksonville once while I was living down there, and ours here in Charleston is so much better! It’s bigger. Even from the top of the ferris wheel, you can’t see the edges. There are concerts (Smash Mouth was there the second night!), magic shows, exhibits, rides, and LOTS of food! Deep fried everything! I’m especially excited for the deep fried Oreos. I only get them at the fair, so it’s a once-a-year treat. Andrew and I are planning to go during the day one day this week (perks of him working from home now!), and hopefully my brother will come later in the day to ride some with me. Andrew’s not really one for the rides…

  • Sakura Pigma Micron pens. This past week, a friend asked me to draw up a hand lettering piece for a project she was working on. It’s the first time I’ve been able to get some decent use out of my Sakura Pigma Micron pens. I bought a set that contained multiple colors, but the black one is all I used on this particular project. These pens are a common recommendation from hand letterers on YouTube and Instagram, so I bought the set a month ago when I had a good coupon for Michael’s. After spending the afternoon only using the black one, I can see why! It writes so smoothly, and it didn’t even bleed through basic printer paper. I sketched out the piece in pencil, then I traced over it slowly, still no bleeding. I almost wish I’d just bought a set of nothing but the black pens. I’d fully recommend it to anyone who draws anything. And, even without the coupon, they’re reasonably priced.

Sarah’s loving…

  • College football. Don’t get me wrong, I love professional football. College just seems to be a bit more exciting. That was definitely true for the FL v. GA game this past Saturday. (My Gators won. Yay!) FL v. GA is always exciting, not only because of the intense rivalry between the two teams, but also because it takes place in my hometown. We’ll gladly put up with a little extra traffic to host one of the biggest events in college football. It’s a great economic boost for the city and you can feel the excitement in the air for the entire weekend, no matter where you go. Deborah and I used to watch the game together every year. Now, we just lovingly taunt each other via text during the game. Being best friends with the enemy means we take turns winning and losing… And hope that next year, the roles are reversed. 🙂

  • My hubby. I know, I know. This shouldn’t count because I love my husband ALL the time and he’s basically my favorite person EVER. But, I especially love him for dressing up with me for Halloween this year. Ryan and I celebrated our first Halloween together after dating for only a month and it’s one of my favorite memories. It was the first time we saw each other act really silly and we had such a good time. Unfortunately, at least one of us has had to work every Halloween since—until this year. So, we decided to make the most of it.
Celebrating our first Halloween as Taco and Salsa and this year, as Mario and Luigi.

I pitched a bunch of ideas to Ryan, but he was the one that made it happen. (I think the hat and mustache did the trick!) We had a blast handing out candy to all of the adorable trick-or-treaters in our neighborhood. Then, because it’s probably one of the last years without kids of our own running around, we went to a local restaurant and celebrated with some other big kids at heart. The whole night was a lot of fun, but the best part was laughing and being silly with my husband in a way that reminded me of our dating days and made me love him even more. ❤

Leave a Reply

