A Happy Accident: Chicken Tortilla Soup

Okay, so, do you ever have one of those recipes that sounds amazing and you’re excited to make it, and then you do, but it doesn’t come out the way you expected? Yeah, me neither.

Just kidding! That actually happened to me a few days ago. I tried a new recipe in The Ninja (our slowcooker), and it actually is quite tasty. It’s just not what I’d been expecting… I love Chili’s Chicken Enchilada soup. As in, almost every time I go, I order their Bottomless Soup & Salad, just so I can get the Chicken Enchilada soup! So, armed with my recently acquired knowledge of how easy slowcooker food is, I hopped on my trusty Pinterest and started looking for a recipe.

Here’s where I hit the snag. I searched for the wrong thing. *gasp* Yes, I searched for “Chili’s Copycat Recipe Chicken Tortilla Soup”. Oops! I did hit some tasty looking things, though, so I picked one, and gave it a try. Success. It wasn’t the creamy, cheesy soup I had in mind, but it was super easy and super tasty. Hubby loved it too, so I’m sure it will become a regular at our house.

As is usually the case, this is one of those dump-everything-in-the-pot-and-turn-it-on recipes. Didn’t even have to thaw the chicken! Dropped in the frozen chicken, the taco seasoning, the salsa, the chicken broth, and the beans, turned it to low, set it for 8 hours, and left for my parents’ house. My grandma had made a day trip to visit, and I hadn’t seen her in awhile.

The recipe calls for chicken broth, but, instead of buying a carton of pre-made chicken broth, I used chicken bullion and water to make my own broth!

We got back several hours later, and the house smelled great! The soup looked a little thin and watery though, so hubby tossed in a spoonful of cornstarch to thicken it, but that’s honestly just a matter of preference. With a couple hours still left on the clock, we added the drained can of corn too. You can use frozen corn if you prefer, but if you do, add it at the very beginning with everything else.

Once there was just 30 minutes left on the clock, Andrew shredded the chicken, and it was so easy because that chicken had been cooking all afternoon. He said it basically fell apart!

Finally, it was time to eat! We dipped it out and topped it with shredded cheese and sour cream. Andrew wanted some cornbread to go with it, so he made a small batch of it. Perfect match!

Final thoughts: tasty soup. Not what I had been looking for, but it definitely turned out to be a happy accident!

Have you ever accidentally discovered a new favorite like this?

Deborahs small signature

Adapted from I Have a Future and a Hope’s recipe.

Leave a Reply

