Halloween Decor Made Easy

As I mentioned the other day, this year is the first time that Ryan and I will be home for Halloween. We’re really excited and this past weekend, we finally got a chance to decorate the porch.

FullSizeRender (3)

Some of the items you see, like the skeleton and “haunted house” tape, were purchased ready-made and we just had to put them up. Others, namely the bats and the wreath, were things we I made. Don’t get me wrong, Ryan helped A LOT. But he drew the line at deco-mesh. 🙂

Speaking of, this is the first deco-mesh wreath I’ve ever made. I love how it turned out and it was actually very easy to make. I just followed this step-by-step tutorial, from Big Bear’s Wife.

IMG_1261

Big Bear’s Wife made her own work wreath but I decided to buy a 16-inch wreath form with the tinsel ties already attached, saving me a few steps. I also used fewer add-ons than she did, simply adding some clip-on spiders I found at Michaels and an adorable foam bat I created using this HGTV template. Then, I made four more bats to hang across the front of the porch. They look great; especially when the wind blows!

FullSizeRender 2

These were just two simple projects I did to make our home fun and inviting for trick-or-treaters. Most of my supplies came from JoAnn and Michaels, where I was able to use their online coupons. I also scored some great finds at the Dollar Tree, proving that decorating for the holidays can be easy and inexpensive. What are some ways you’re decorating this Halloween?

blogsignature

Leave a Reply

